ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Emmylou Harris - Blue Kentucky Girl
Emmylou Harris - Blue Kentucky Girl album download


Emmylou Harris


Blue Kentucky Girl


Country and World

MP3 album size:

1532 mb

Other music formats:



4.3 ✱


Folk Rock, Country Rock



Emmylou Harris - Blue Kentucky Girl album download

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Sister's Coming Home
Electric Guitar – Albert LeeHarmony Vocals [Duet] – Tanya TuckerWritten-By – Willie Nelson
2 Beneath Still Waters
Written-By – Dallas Frazier
3 Rough And Rocky
Accordion – Lincoln Davis, Jr.Bass – Mike BowdenElectric Guitar – Emmylou HarrisMandolin – Ricky SkaggsPiano – Tony Brown Written-By – Charles Justice, Shoji Tabuchi
4 Hickory Wind
Fiddle [5-string] – Ricky SkaggsWritten-By – Bob Buchanon*, Gram Parsons
5 Save The Last Dance For Me
Written-By – Doc Pomus, Mort Shuman
6 Sorrow In The Wind
Bass – Brian AhernWritten-By – Jean Ritchie
7 They'll Never Take His Love From Me
Bass – Duke BardwellDrums – Ronnie Tutt*Harmony Vocals – Fayssoux StarlingPedal Steel Guitar – Ben KeithWritten-By – Leon Payne
8 Everytime You Leave
Conductor [Strings] – Glen D Hardin*Guitar [High-strung] – Brian AhernHarmony Vocals [Duet] – Don EverlyWritten-By – Charlie Louvin, Ira Louvin
9 Blue Kentucky Girl
Banjo [6-string] – Brian AhernWritten-By – Johnny Mullins
10 Even Cowgirls Get The Blues
Harmony Vocals – Dolly Parton, Linda RonstadtWritten-By, Acoustic Guitar [Lead] – Rodney Crowell

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
  • Produced For – Happy Sack Productions
  • Manufactured By – TELDEC Record Service GmbH


  • Acoustic Guitar – Albert Lee (tracks: 7, 9), Brian Ahern (tracks: 1, 5, 7, 8), Emmylou Harris (tracks: 2 to 7, 9, 10)
  • Bass – Emory Gordy* (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 to 10)
  • Design, Photography By – Tom Wilkes
  • Directed By, Producer – Brian Ahern
  • Drums – John Ware (tracks: 1 to 5, 8 to 10)
  • Electric Guitar – Albert Lee (tracks: 1, 10), James Burton (tracks: 2, 4, 7, 8)
  • Fiddle – Ricky Skaggs (tracks: 1, 5, 6, 7, 9)
  • Guitar [High-strung] – Rodney Crowell (tracks: 2, 9)
  • Harmonica – Mickey Raphael (tracks: 7, 9)
  • Harmony Vocals – Cheryl Warren (tracks: 3, 5, 6, 9), Ricky Skaggs (tracks: 7, 8), Sharon Hicks (tracks: 3, 5, 6, 9)
  • Mandolin – Albert Lee (tracks: 5, 9)
  • Pedal Steel Guitar – Hank DeVito (tracks: 1 to 5, 8 to 10)
  • Percussion – Brian Ahern (tracks: 3, 7)
  • Piano – Bill Payne (tracks: 7, 8), Glen D Hardin* (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 10)


Original European CD issue.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: 927392-2 RE-1 SRC-01
  • Mould SID Code: 15
  • Barcode: 0 7599-27392-2 1

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
BSK 3318, BSK-3318 Emmylou Harris Blue Kentucky Girl ‎(LP, Album, Win) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records BSK 3318, BSK-3318 US 1979
BSK 3318 Emmylou Harris Blue Kentucky Girl ‎(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records BSK 3318 Canada 1979
BSK 3318, BSK-3318 Emmylou Harris Blue Kentucky Girl ‎(LP, Album, Club) Warner Bros. Records, Columbia House BSK 3318, BSK-3318 US 1979
CD 3318 Emmylou Harris Blue Kentucky Girl ‎(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records Inc. CD 3318 Canada 1989
BSK 3318, BSK-3318 Emmylou Harris Blue Kentucky Girl ‎(LP, Album, TP) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records BSK 3318, BSK-3318 US 1979

Relying on a more acoustic sound, the album largely forsakes contemporary pop songs in favor of standard country fare, including the Louvin Brothers' "Everytime You Leave" and Leon Payne's "They'll Never Take His Love from M. The cover of Dallas Frazier's "Beneath Still Waters" earned Harris her fourth number one single.

Eschewing the more rock-leaning sound she’d become known for, Emmylou Harris went country as cowboy boots for 1979’s Blue Kentucky Girl. There’s a touch of the album title state’s famous bluegrass in the jaunty, fiddle-touched opener, Sister’s Coming Home. And the Gram Parsons tune found here is one of his most traditional cuts-a lonesome, wistful Hickory Wind. She also teamed up with a couple of other powerful, contemporary voices-Dolly Parton and Linda Ronstadt-to deliver a majorly twangy Even Cowgirls Get the Blues. Blue Kentucky Girl (Remastered) Emmylou Harris.

Blue Kentucky Girl" is a song written by Johnny Mullins, and originally recorded by American country music artist Loretta Lynn. It was released in May 1965 as the first single and title track from the album Blue Kentucky Girl. The song reached number 7 on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart. Blue Kentucky Girl" was also a single for American country music artist Emmylou Harris.

Blue Kentucky Girl is an album by country music artist Emmylou Harris, released in 1979. The album features delving more traditional country than the country-rock sound of Harris' previous releases. Songs include work by Willie Nelson and Gram Parsons. Her father, Walter Harris, was a Marine Corps officer and her father was reported missing in action in Korea in 1952 and spent ten months as a prisoner of war. Born in Birmingham, Alabama, Harris spent her childhood in North Carolina and Woodbridge, Virginia and she married fellow songwriter Tom Slocum in 1969 and recorded her first album, Gliding Bird.

Features Song Lyrics for Emmylou Harris's Blue Kentucky Girl album. They'll Never Take His Love From Me Lyrics. Emmylou Harris Lyrics provided by SongLyrics. Lyricapsule: The Surfaris Drop ‘Wipe Out’; June 22, 1963. RIFF’d: Nas’ ‘Nasir’. Lyricapsule: The Byrds Drop ‘Mr. Tambourine Man’; June 21, 1965.

MP3 FLAC related to Emmylou Harris - Blue Kentucky Girl