ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Rush - Permanent Waves
Rush - Permanent Waves album download




Permanent Waves



MP3 album size:

1183 mb

Other music formats:



4.2 ✱


Hard Rock, Prog Rock



Date of release:


Rush - Permanent Waves album download

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Spirit Of Radio 4:54
A2 Freewill 5:23
A3 Jacob's Ladder 7:50
B1 Entre Nous 4:37
B2 Different Strings
Piano – Hugh Syme
Natural Science 9:27
B3-I Tide Pools
B3-II Hyperspace
B3-III Permanent Waves


  • Arranged By – Rush, Terry Brown
  • Art Direction, Design, Graphics – Hugh Syme
  • Artwork [Cover Concept] – Hugh Syme, Neil Peart
  • Bass Guitar, Synthesizer [Oberheim Polyphonic, Ob-1, Mini-moog, Taurus Pedals], Vocals – Geddy Lee
  • Drums, Timpani, Timbales, Bells [Orchestra, Tubular, Bell Tree], Wind Chimes, Triangle, Crotales – Neil Peart
  • Electric Guitar [Six And Twelve String], Acoustic Guitar [Six And Twelve String], Synthesizer [Taurus Pedals] – Alex Lifeson
  • Engineer [Mix Assistant] – Adam Moseley, Craig Milliner, Geddy Lee
  • Engineer [Mix, Cameo Appearances By] – Steve S. Hort*
  • Engineer [Mix] – Terry Brown
  • Engineer [Recording, General Assistant] – Robbie Whelan
  • Engineer [Recording] – Paul Northfield
  • Executive-Producer – Moon Records
  • Lyrics By – Lee* (tracks: B2), Peart* (tracks: A1 to B1, B3)
  • Mastered By – Ray Staff
  • Music By – Lifeson*, Lee*
  • Other [Inspiration And Vocal Coaching By] – Daisy The Dog
  • Photography By – Deborah Samuel, Fin Costello, Flip Schulke
  • Producer – Rush, Terry Brown

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ANR-1-1021 Rush Permanent Waves ‎(LP, Album) Anthem ANR-1-1021 Canada 1980
SRM-1-4001 Rush Permanent Waves ‎(LP, Album, RE) Mercury SRM-1-4001 US 1985
ANC-1021 Rush Permanent Waves ‎(Cass, Album, RE, Dol) Anthem Records ANC-1021 Canada Unknown
7142 720 Rush Permanent Waves ‎(Cass, Album) Mercury 7142 720 New Zealand 1980
822 548-2 M-1, 822 548-2 Rush Permanent Waves ‎(CD, Album, Club, RE) Mercury, Mercury 822 548-2 M-1, 822 548-2 US Unknown

Permanent Waves is the seventh studio album by the Canadian rock band Rush, released in January 1980 on Anthem Records. After touring to support the band's previous album Hemispheres (1978) ended, the band members took a short break before they regrouped to work on new material. The album marked a departure in the band's musical style towards tighter song structures and songs more suitable for radio airplay

Permanent Waves became Rush's first US top five album, hitting on the Billboard 200, and their fifth Gold (later Platinum) selling album. Both of the singles "The Spirit of Radio" and "Freewill" have continued to receive significant radio airplay since the album's release. The writing of the album began in July 1979, at Lakewoods Farm in Ontario on Georgian Bay, Lake Huron while Neil Peart began writing lyrics in a cottage nearby. Rush began with an instrumental jam, which they named "Uncle Tounouse. Parts of this were used in the songs on the album. While Peart worked on lyrics, Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson would work on musical ideas in the basement.

Permanent Waves is the seventh studio album by Canadian rock band Rush, released on January 14, 1980, by Mercury Records in the United States. Its total length is 35:35. The band's lineup included vocalist, bassist, and keyboards player Geddy Lee, guitarist Alex Lifeson, and drummer Neil Peart. Rush's previous release Hemispheres was their most progressive album they had done. The album was the band's most popular release yet as it reached on Billboard 200 chart and on the UK albums chart. It has since gone Platinum in the . and Canada, as well as Gold in the . The strengths of this album are the progressive, but radio friendly style, the great musicianship, the excellent lyrics and themes, and the abundance of terrific catchy Rush hits. There are no weaknesses on Permanent Waves. Here are my thoughts on each track. 1. "The Spirit of Radio" 4:59 (5/5).

This is Permanent Waves, Rush's fourth best album. This is the album where Rush went from prog to proggy, so to speak. This band would be The Police. Up until now, Rush had been primarily influenced by by hard-rock, Led Zeppelin mostly, and prog rock, Yes chiefly. After the difficulty of Hemispheres, Rush wanted to simplify. They looked around the music scene, and The Police fit the bill for a simpler influence

Album Name Permanent Waves. Released date January 1980. Labels Moon Records (UKR). Music StyleHard Rock. Members owning this album135. The Spirit of Radio.

Permanent Waves earned Rush new hoards of fans, even converting some of their harshest critics. But Lifeson himself wasn't engaged by the album at first. I went through a period where I couldn't listen to the album," the guitarist told Music Express. I was really disappointed. It didn't seem like there was anything new or fresh about the album. 'Jacob's Ladder' seemed to be a typical Rush song, a rehash of something we'd done in the past. But then I started hearing the album on the radio, and I thought 'Wow, this sounds great. Then I realized I had over-reacted to the album and that I had been overly-critical of small insignificant things that hadn't affected the overall effect of the record. Even in the face of growing commercial success, Lee's attitude was even-keeled. I think we achieved success a long time ago," the bassist told Circus.

MP3 FLAC related to Rush - Permanent Waves