ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Joni Mitchell - Hejira
Joni Mitchell - Hejira album download


Joni Mitchell





MP3 album size:

1222 mb

Other music formats:



4.2 ✱


Soft Rock



Joni Mitchell - Hejira album download

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Coyote
Bass – Jaco PastoriusLead Guitar – Larry CarltonPercussion – Bobbye HallRhythm Guitar – Mitchell*
2 Amelia
Lead Guitar – Larry CarltonRhythm Guitar – Mitchell*Vibraphone [Vibes] – Victor Feldman
3 Furry Sings The Blues
Bass – Max BennettDrums – John GuerinGuitar – Mitchell*Harmonica – Neil Young
4 A Strange Boy
Lead Guitar – Larry CarltonPercussion – Bobbye HallRhythm Guitar – Mitchell*
5 Hejira
Bass – Jaco PastoriusClarinet – Abe MostGuitar – Mitchell*Percussion – Bobbye Hall
6 Song For Sharon
Bass – Max BennettDrums – John GuerinVocals, Guitar – Mitchell*
7 Black Crow
Bass – Jaco PastoriusLead Guitar – Larry CarltonRhythm Guitar – Mitchell*
8 Blue Motel Room
Acoustic Guitar – Larry CarltonBass – Chuck DomanicoDrums – John GuerinElectric Guitar – Mitchell*
9 Refuge Of The Roads
Bass – Jaco PastoriusDrums – John GuerinGuitar – Mitchell*Horns – Chuck Findley, Tom Scott

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed By – Warner Music Canada Ltd
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Asylum Records
  • Copyright (c) – Elektra/Asylum Records
  • Copyright (c) – Crazy Crow Music
  • Pressed By – Cinram
  • Recorded At – A&M Studios
  • Mastered At – Oceanview Digital Mastering


  • Art Direction – Glen Christensen
  • Artwork [Repackaged By] – Robbie Cavolina
  • Design, Directed By [Musical Director], Written-By, Mixed By – Mitchell*
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Steve Katz
  • Mastered By – Joe Gastwirt
  • Mastered By [Legacy Credit] – Bernie Grundman
  • Mixed By – Lewy*
  • Photography By – Joel Bernstein, Norman Seeff
  • Photography By [Photo Prints] – Keith Williamson
  • Recorded By – Henry "Inspirational" Lewy*
  • Supervised By [Mastering Supervised By] – Andy Paley


HDCD remaster, first issued in the mid-1990s

5-panel booklet includes lyrics and photos

℗ 1976 Asylum Records
© 1976 Elektra/Asylum Records
© 1976 Crazy Crow Music BMI

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 075596061421
  • Matrix / Runout: [Cinram logo]   LT36   CD 01087 RE-1        #50719Z02
  • ASIN: B000002GYC
  • Other (Mastering SID Code): LT36
  • Other (Mould SID Code): IFPI 6000
  • Other (Inner ring, inverse to matrix): 11
  • Other (Moulded in clear plastic center): 12
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
7E-1087 Joni Mitchell Hejira ‎(LP, Album, CSM) Asylum Records 7E-1087 US 1976
K53053, K.53053 Joni Mitchell Hejira ‎(LP, Album, Gat) Asylum Records, Asylum Records K53053, K.53053 UK 1976
none Joni Mitchell Hejira ‎(9xFile, FLAC, Album, RE, 24b) Rhino Records , Elektra none 2013
K4 53053 Joni Mitchell Hejira ‎(Cass, Album) Asylum Records K4 53053 UK 1976
SUH 5104 Joni Mitchell Hejira ‎(Cass, Album, RE) Summit , WEA Records SUH 5104 Australia Unknown

Hejira is the eighth studio album by Canadian singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell. The songs on the album were largely written by Mitchell on a trip by car from Maine back to Los Angeles, California, with prominent imagery including highways, small towns and snow. The photographs of Mitchell on the front and back cover were taken by Norman Seeff and appear against a backdrop of Lake Mendota, in Madison, Wisconsin, after an ice storm.

Joni Mitchell only used the first person once on her seventh album; instead, she sang of women as seen through men's eyes, assessed according to their suitability for motherhood, sex and deference. Similarly, Mitchell found herself made into an adjunct when she briefly joined the Rolling Thunder Revue in 1975, opening for male artists who were her equal. On Hejira, Mitchell pared percussion back to the faintest patter, ditched choruses, and created nine fairly similar tone poems from her guitar (mostly electric on the recordings) and Jaco Pastorius' fretless bass. Only lounge-jazz pastiche "Blue Motel Room" veers from the form. Their rippling instruments evoke the uncanny surface of the pools in Hockney's California paintings, and the scant reliance on hooks encourages a sense of forward motion.

Hejira ‎ (Cass, Album). Joni mitchell - refuge of the roads 6:39. Joni Mitchell Song For Sharon 8:45. Joni Mitchell - Hejira (1976) Full Album 51:57. harbour, EnergyAudio.

Hejira is the first Joni Mitchell album that features Jaco Pastorius. The musical relationship between the two started when Mitchell was about to begin recording the album. Robben Ford, LA Express’s guitar player, played her Jaco’s first solo record in 1976 and introduced Joni to the album. Joni loved the bass playing and asked Jaco to come to the studio to play on some of the songs later to appear in Hejira. Joni Mitchell and Jaco Pastorius 1979

Hejira is about Mitchell’s reasons for leaving John Guerin, and Mitchell described it as probably the toughest tune on the album to write. Is it true that Chaka Khan was supposed to cover this song for a tribute album? Yes. However, the A Case of Joni album eventually took another direction. But Chaka’s club music-lite version of Hejira eventually leaked to the internet. Written By Joni Mitchell.

Band Name Joni Mitchell. 3. Furry Sings the Blues. 4. Strange Boy. 5. Hejira. 9. Refuge of the Roads. Other productions from Joni Mitchell. The Beginning of Survival.

My first moment of magic with joni mitchell was when her album 'court and spark' was releasd many moons ago, moons will come and go but she is a true artist, angel in disguise, lvya joni. 1 day ago. My favourite Joni album after Blue & Ladies of the Canyon. Hejira is just a perfect song. This whole album came out 23 years before I was born.

MP3 FLAC related to Joni Mitchell - Hejira