ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Joy Williams - Venus
Joy Williams  - Venus album download


Joy Williams




Rock / Pop

MP3 album size:

1553 mb

Other music formats:



4.2 ✱


Pop Rock



Date of release:


Joy Williams - Venus album download


A1 Before I Sleep
A2 Sweet Love Of Mine
A3 Woman (Oh Mama)
A4 One Day I Will
A5 Not Good Enough
A6 What A Good Woman Does
B1 Until The Levee
B2 You Loved Me
B3 The Dying Kind
B4 Till Forever
B5 Welcome Home

Companies, etc.

  • Mastered At – Welcome To 1979
  • Pressed By – United Record Pressing
  • Manufactured By – Columbia Records
  • Distributed By – Columbia Records
  • Licensed To – Columbia Records
  • Licensed From – Sensibility Recordings LLC
  • Copyright (c) – Sensibility Recordings LLC
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sensibility Recordings LLC


  • Executive-Producer – Joy Williams , Matt Morris , Nate Yetton
  • Mastered By – CJH*
  • Mixed By – Mark "Spike" Stent*
  • Producer – Charlie Peacock (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to A6, B1, B3 to B5), Daniel James, Matt Morris , Michael Einziger* (tracks: B2)


Black vinyl.

© & ℗ 2015 Sensibility Recordings LLC

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned jacket): 888750876119
  • Barcode (Text on jacket): 8 88750 87611 9
  • Barcode (Scanned sticker on shrink wrap): 888751005013
  • Barcode (Text on sticker on shrink wrap): 8 88751 00501 3
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A [Hand Etched]): 88875087611-RE3-A ⓤ CJH
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B [Hand Etched]): 88875087611-RE3-B ⓤ CJH
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A & B [Stamped]): Welcome to 1979
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Label): AL88875087611
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Label): BL88875087611

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
88875 08761 2 Joy Williams Venus ‎(CD, Album) Columbia, Sensibility Music 88875 08761 2 US 2015
88875087612 Joy Williams Venus ‎(CD, Album, Gat) Columbia, Sensibility Music 88875087612 Australia 2015
88875 08761 2 Joy Williams Venus ‎(CD, Album) Columbia, Sensibility Music 88875 08761 2 Europe 2015
88875 08761 2 Joy Williams Venus ‎(CD, Album) Columbia, Sensibility Music, Sony Music 88875 08761 2 Canada 2015
88875 08761 1 Joy Williams Venus ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, Cle) Sensibility Music, Columbia 88875 08761 1 US 2015

Joy Elizabeth Williams (born November 14, 1982) is an American singer-songwriter. The winner of four Grammy Awards, Williams has released four solo albums and four EPs since her self-titled debut in 2001. She was half of the Civil Wars duo from 2009 until 2014. Williams was born in West Branch, Michigan, and raised in a Christian home in Mount Hermon in Santa Cruz County, California, where her parents worked in ministry.

Many know Joy Williams as one half of the four-time Grammy-winning folk-rock duo The Civil Wars. Until their 2012 hiatus (and eventual break up in August 2014) the singer-songstress with her long sea witch hair and Mona Lisa half-smile rarely revealed herself, except through the duo s bruising and stark lyrics of romantic conflations and doomed intimacies. On VENUS she changes all that  . While I still regret we'll be forever deprived of that particular magic, Joy Williams' new solo album, Venus, is definitely a keeper. Outstanding tracks include the haunting, "Until the Levee," the achingly confessional "What a Good Woman Does," and the defiant "Woman.

Joy Williams: It feels like I’m reclaiming myself. I identified so much with The Civil Wars that when it went away I had to process the myth that I’d been a part of creating, free myself of that, and rediscover my own voice. How would you describe VENUS? For me, it’s my coming-of-age album, becoming the woman I’ve always wanted to be. I think over the course of the last couple of years making this album, I finally felt that I stepped into my own skin. I’ve spent my whole life trying to be the best version of myself, and I’ve finally let myself just be me. Can you talk about how you came to name the album VENUS? It was an intuitive thing for me. As I was writing songs for the album, I was realizing they had started organizing themselves around this theme. It was like the songs themselves were naming the record

I'm gonna stand here in the ache," Joy Williams wails in "Until The Levee," a song that comes just past the middle of the arc her new solo album, Venus, creates. She seems to nearly strain her warm, urgent voice, which many came to love in Williams' early Christian-music recordings - and many more adored as one half of the sound of the now-defunct Civil Wars. But then comes a break as she offers an image of tumultuous release: "Until the levee or my heart breaks. It's a fascinating twist on an old blues trope, one that personalizes and feminizes.

Engineer – Charlie Peacock (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 7, 9 to 11), Daniel James (tracks: 3), Michael Einziger (tracks: 8), Richie Biggs (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 7, 9 to 11). Engineer – Charlie Peacock (tracks: 5, 9, 10). Executive-Producer – Joy Williams (2), Matt Morris (3), Nate Yetton. Legal – David Wykoff, Jess Rosen, Joel Katz (3). Management – Clay Hunt (2), Mike Couse, Nate Yetton.

Joy Williams is a Grammy award-winning singer-songwriter from Santa Cruz, CA who now lovingly. I poured my soul into every nook and cranny of this record, and I hope you can hear it. I am so proud of these songs. I hope they speak to you, welcome you, and remind you that we’re all on this journey together.

MP3 FLAC related to Joy Williams - Venus