ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Gang Of Four - Solid Gold
Gang Of Four - Solid Gold album download


Gang Of Four


Solid Gold



MP3 album size:

1814 mb

Other music formats:



4.2 ✱


New Wave, Indie Rock



Date of release:


Gang Of Four - Solid Gold album download


A1 Paralysed 3:21
A2 What We All Want 4:56
A3 If I Could Keep It For Myself 4:08
A4 Outside The Trains Don't Run On Time 3:16
A5 Why Theory 2:30
B1 Cheeseburger 4:04
B2 The Republic 3:20
B3 In The Ditch 4:19
B4 A Hole In The Wallet 4:01
B5 He'd Send In The Army 4:27

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – EMI Records Australia
  • Manufactured By – EMI Music Group Of Companies
  • Distributed By – EMI Music Group Of Companies


  • Engineer – Jimmy Douglass
  • Lyrics By – Andy Gill (tracks: A1, A5, B1, B5), Jon King
  • Performer – Andy Gill, Dave Allen , Hugo Burnham, Jon King
  • Producer – Gang Of Four, Jimmy Douglass
  • Written-By – Andy Gill (tracks: A1, B2, B4), Gang Of Four (tracks: A2 to B1, B3, B5), Jon King (tracks: A1, B2, B4)

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
EMC 3364, 0C 062-07 460 Gang Of Four Solid Gold ‎(LP, Album) EMI, EMI EMC 3364, 0C 062-07 460 UK 1981
EMC 3364, 0825646089499 Gang Of Four Solid Gold ‎(LP, Album, RE, 180) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records, Parlophone, Parlophone EMC 3364, 0825646089499 USA, Canada & Europe 2015
6-502 608, 1C 064-07 460 Gang Of Four Solid Gold ‎(LP, Album) EMI, EMI Electrola 6-502 608, 1C 064-07 460 Netherlands Unknown
3C 064-07460 Gang Of Four Solid Gold ‎(LP, Album) EMI 3C 064-07460 Italy 1981
EMS-81416 Gang Of Four Solid Gold ‎(LP, Album, Promo) EMI EMS-81416 Japan 1981

Solid Gold is the second album by the British post-punk band Gang of Four, released in 1981. Two of its tracks, "Outside the Trains Don't Run on Time" and "He'd Send in the Army", are re-recordings of songs previously released as a single in the UK. The album was issued in an CD expanded version by the EMI Records and Infinite Zero Archive/American Recordings labels in 1995, which added the songs from Another Day/Another Dollar EP. Pitchfork listed Solid Gold as 24th best album of the 1980s.

WMG (от лица компании "Rhino Warner"); UBEM, Warner Chappell, Exploration Group (Music Publishing), ARESA, BMG Rights Management, PEDL, LatinAutor, LatinAutor - Warner Chappell, ASCAP, BMI - Broadcast Music In. и другие авторские общества (5).

Complete sua coleção de Gang Of Four. Notas: Releases billed as compilations of 'Solid Gold' and 'Another Day, Another Dollar' are listed here. If I Could Keep It For Myself.

With Solid Gold, Gang Of Four convinced me, and an entire generation of post-punk artists, that after all, maybe the best way to change the system is from the inside. Sep 5, 2006Jeff Terich. Home Gang of Four : Solid Gold. OFF! announce summer tour dates. Lingua Ignota announces new album, CALIGULA.

Album by Gang of Four. Outside the Trains Don't Run on Time. Why Theory? Cheeseburger. A Hole in the Wallet. He'd Send In the Army. History's Bunk! Cheeseburger (live). What We All Want (live).

But Solid Gold comes from 1981. We are in difficult second album territory. I saw them live around this time: they were very loud and pretty exciting. Solid Gold captures none of that. The two extra live tracks included with this reissue give you a better taste of their power. But for the first five tracks of Sold Gold they trudge lumpily through different versions of the same lacklustre idea. The production is really dull. 'Paralyzed'' paints an accurate picture of early eighties Britain: tense, gray, downtrodden and miserable. Solid Gold feels like being lectured by a Guardian reader about other people's oppression. Ironically, the Gang Of Four were more musically advanced than contemporaries like Joy Division or The Fall. But Solid Gold lacks that touch of visionary madness; that lust for extremes that marks a truly great band. Interesting, but not essential. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence.

Gang of Four were no different. Their debut Entertainment! provided a soundtrack to the political atmosphere at the time and can even be used today as a statement, from the politician hitting "I Found The Essence Rare" to the consumer-hungry in "Natural's Not In It". The subsequent release of their second album shows King & co. still have a few things to say. Although Solid Gold still follows its past, they only do so lyrically.

MP3 FLAC related to Gang Of Four - Solid Gold