ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Nico - The Marble Index
Nico  - The Marble Index album download




The Marble Index



MP3 album size:

1654 mb

Other music formats:



4.2 ✱


Avantgarde, Experimental



Nico - The Marble Index album download


A1 Prelude 0:50
A2 Lawns Of Dawns 3:12
A3 No One Is There 3:36
A4 Ari's Song 3:20
A5 Facing The Wind 4:52
B1 Julius Caesar (Memento Hodie) 4:57
B2 Frozen Warnings 4:00
B3 Evening Of Light 5:33

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – Nina Music


  • Arranged By – John Cale
  • Art Direction – William S. Harvey
  • Design – Robert L. Heimall
  • Engineer – John Haeny
  • Executive-Producer – Jac Holzman
  • Photography By – Guy Webster
  • Producer – Frazier Mohawk
  • Vocals, Harmonium, Words By, Music By – Nico


All selections copyright Nina Music
Public performance cleared through BMI

Friends: David Anderle, Danny Fields

1970's Reissue with green Elektra Butterfly style lables.

The EK in the B-side matrix is etched as is the 1B, the S-74029 B is stamped.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Stamped): EKS-74029A-1A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Etched/Stamped): EKS 74029 B-1B

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
EKS-74029 Nico The Marble Index ‎(LP, Album) Elektra EKS-74029 US 1968
EKS-74029 Nico The Marble Index ‎(LP, Album) Elektra EKS-74029 Germany 1968
EKL 4029 Nico The Marble Index ‎(LP, Album, Mono) Elektra EKL 4029 UK 1969
7559-61098-2 Nico The Marble Index ‎(CD, Album, RE) Elektra 7559-61098-2 Europe 1991
ELK 42.065 Nico The Marble Index ‎(LP, Album, RE) Elektra ELK 42.065 Europe Unknown

Cranberries, Red Hot Chili Peppers, .

The Marble Index ‎(LP, Album, RE). Exulta, Elektra, Elektra. 42 065, EKS 74 029, EKS-74029.

The Marble Index is the second solo album and third studio album by German musician Nico, which was released in November 1968 on Elektra Records. The sound introduced in the album-a stark contrast with her folk pop debut, Chelsea Girl-was the result of the combination of Nico's droning harmonium and somber vocals, and producer John Cale's musical arrangements, which were inspired by modern European classical music. It's so suicidal!'" The original release of The Marble Index included eight of 12 songs Nico recorded. Roses in the Snow", "Nibelungen", "Sagen die Gelehrten" and "Reve Reveiller" were left off the album. The finished album was barely 30 minutes long, which "was as much apparently as Frazier Mohawk, mixing and sequencing it, could stand without starting to feel.

Desertshore is the third solo album and fourth studio album by German musician Nico. It was released in December 1970 on the Reprise label. Desertshore was co-produced by John Cale and Joe Boyd. Like its predecessor The Marble Index, it is an avant-garde album with neoclassical elements. Janitor of Lunacy" was composed as a tribute to her friend Brian Jones.

Cale's arrangements attempt to maneuver Nico's lyrical ess; structure isn't in the plan, the only constant, the ubiquitous viola weaving in and out from one track to another and a good old fashion drone. The Marble Index is a direct statement that clocks in at just over 37 minutes. Still, I can't think of an album that proposed a more difficult or tedious first listen. You know, we get the benefit of years of hindsight with albums from other generations. I really didn't pay any heed. I'd like to rationalize the reasons why I don't burn this album in its place with a Bic lighter but there's no point because I don't really hate it.

I could see exactly what Bang was getting at. The Marble Index is a remarkable record, one with the annihilating beauty of a late Rothko painting, but I can't see a time when I'll feel compelled to play it again. I suspect that if you're ever in the perfect mood to play The Marble Index, then it's probably the last thing you should be playing.

MP3 FLAC related to Nico - The Marble Index