ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Miles Davis - 'Round About Midnight
Miles Davis - 'Round About Midnight album download


Miles Davis


'Round About Midnight



MP3 album size:

1501 mb

Other music formats:



4.4 ✱


Hard Bop



Miles Davis - 'Round About Midnight album download

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 'Round Midnight
Written-By – C. Williams*, M. Dixon*, T. Monk*
2 Ah-Leu-Cha
Written-By – C. Parker*
3 All Of You
Written-By – C. Porter*
4 Bye Bye Blackbird
Written-By – M. Dixon*, R. Henderson*
5 Tadd's Delight
Written-By – Dameron*
6 Dear Old Stockholm
Written-By – S. Getz*

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Columbia Records
  • Manufactured By – CBS Inc.
  • Pressed By – DADC – DIDP-070417


  • Bass – Paul Chambers
  • Drums – "Philly Joe" Jones*
  • Engineer – Frank Laico
  • Engineer [Reissue] – Ray Moore
  • Piano – William "Red" Garland*
  • Producer – George Avakian
  • Remastered By – Teo Macero
  • Tenor Saxophone – John Coltrane
  • Trumpet – Miles Davis


The track names on the CD art are positioned differently than in 'Round About Midnight.

Digitally Remastered Directly From The Original Analog Tapes

Recorded October 27, 1955, at the Columbia 799 Seventh Avenue Studio, and June 5, 1956 and September 10, 1956 at the Columbia 30th Street Studio, in New York City.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 7464 - 40610 - 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): DIDP-070417 F4 3A 01
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L424
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 7208
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): E1 3A CK40610 21
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI L421
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 7231

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CL 949 Miles Davis 'Round About Midnight ‎(LP, Album, Mono) Columbia CL 949 US 1957
DOL800HG Miles Davis 'Round About Midnight ‎(LP, Album, Dlx, RE, 180) Dol DOL800HG Europe 2017
CK 40610 Miles Davis 'Round About Midnight ‎(CD, Album, RE, RM) Columbia CK 40610 US Unknown
YS 302, YS-302 The Miles Davis Quintet 'Round About Midnight ‎(LP, Album) Columbia, CBS YS 302, YS-302 Japan 1964
950667 Miles Davis 'Round About Midnight ‎(LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Tra) WaxTime In Color 950667 Spain 2019

Round About Midnight is an album by jazz trumpeter Miles Davis that was released by Columbia in March 1957. At the Newport Jazz Festival in 1955, Davis performed the song "'Round Midnight" as part of an all-star jam session, with the song's composer Thelonious Monk, along with Connie Kay and Percy Heath of the Modern Jazz Quartet, Zoot Sims, and Gerry Mulligan. Davis's solo received a positive reception from many jazz fans and critics

Vervollständigen Sie Ihre Miles Davis-Sammlung. The album took its name from the Thelonious Monk song "Round Midnight". Recording sessions took place at Columbia Studio D on October 26 1955, and at Columbia's 30th Street Studio on June 5 and September 10 1956. Round About Midnight' is widely recognized by jazz critics as a landmark album in hard bop and one of the greatest jazz albums of all time. On April 17 2001, Sony reissued the album for compact disc on its Columbia/Legacy label, which featured 24-bit remastering and included bonus tracks and master takes from the initial sessions.

The date was also an ending of sorts because by the time of the album's release, Davis had already broken up the band, which re-formed with Cannonball Adderley a year later as a sextet, but it was a tense year. Musically, this sound is as unusual and as beautiful as it was when issued in 1956. Davis had already led the charge through two changes in jazz - both cool jazz and hard bop - and was beginning to move in another direction here that wouldn't be defined for another two years.

Miles Davis - Bitches Brew (1970) - full album - YouTube. Miles Davis - Star People (1983) (Full Album) - YouTube. Miles Davis - You're Under Arrest - Full Album. Miles Davis - You're Under Arrest - Full Album - YouTube.

Album · 1957 · 19 Songs. While fulfilling his obligation to Prestige, Davis and company also waxed a pair of sessions for Columbia - one in October of 1955, the other in June of ‘56 - the glorious results of which emerged in 1957 on Round About Midnight, his renowned label debut. It was Davis’s smoky, muted take on Thelonious Monk’s ’Round Midnight that so delighted the Newport crowd in ’55, and the stunning studio version found here is worthy of a time capsule

Round About Midnight is one of Miles Davis' true masterpieces; it's an album of focused, passionate numbers that showcase a post-bop transformation that was taking place in the 1950's. Here, Miles is in top form with his signature trumpet, while John Coltrane adds the tenor sax. Throw in great piano by Red Garland, and what you have is relaxing, yet moving songs that remind me of lounge music at some hotel during happy hour. In a lot of ways, 'Round About Midnight is a definitive jazz album, much in the same manner as Kind of Blue

MP3 FLAC related to Miles Davis - 'Round About Midnight