ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » The Busch Quartet & Pro Arte - Play Schubert
The Busch Quartet & Pro Arte - Play Schubert album download


The Busch Quartet


Play Schubert



MP3 album size:

1141 mb

Other music formats:



4.7 ✱



Date of release:


The Busch Quartet & Pro Arte - Play Schubert album download

Tracklist Hide Credits

Piano Quintet In A Major Op.114 "Trout"
Cello – Robert MaasDouble Bass – Claude HobdayEnsemble – Members Of Pro Arte*Piano – Artur SchnabelViola – Germain PrévostViolin – Alphonse Onnou
1 I: Allegro Vivace 8:56
2 II: Andante 1:54
3 III: Scherzo: Presto 5:23
4 IV: Theme & Variations: Andantino 2:23
5 V. Finale: Allegro Giusto 7:00
String Quartet In D Minor "Death And The Maiden"
Cello – Herman Busch*Ensemble – The Busch QuartetViola – Karl DoktorViolin – Adolf Busch, Gösta Andreasson
6 I. Allegro 4:03
7 II: Andante Con Moto 6:15
8 III: Scherzo: Allegro Molto 3:45
9 IV: Rondo Finale: Presto 4:26

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Dutton
  • Recorded At – Abbey Road Studios


  • Composed By – Franz Schubert
  • Liner Notes – Tully Potter
  • Remastered By – Michael Dutton*


Tracks 1 to 5: Recorded At Abbey Road Studio No.3 on 10 November 1935
Tracks 6 to 9: Recorded at Abbey Road Studio no. 3, on 16 November 1935.
Total time: 67:07 mins.
Made in England

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 65387 97432 0
  • Matrix / Runout: FAI CDBP9743
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LP76
  • Rights Society: MCPS
  • SPARS Code: ADD

The String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, known as Death and the Maiden, is a piece by Franz Schubert. It was composed in 1824, after the composer suffered a serious illness and realized that he was dying. It is named for the theme of the second movement, which Schubert took from a song he wrote in 1817 of the same title. Some interpret it as Schubert's testament to death, and find that the theme of death is palpable in all four movements of the quartet.

Schubert; Busch Quartett. Piano Quintet in F minor, op. 34, Piano Quartet in A major, op. 26. Brahms; Rudolf Serkin, Busch Quartet. Piano Quartet no. 1 in G minor, Piano Quartet no. 2 in A. Brahms; Arthur Rubinstein, Pro Arte Quartet, Rudolf Serkin, Busch Quartet. The Busch Quartet Performs Beethoven, Schubert and Mendelssohn. Ludwig van Beethoven; Busch String Quartet.

Album · 2006 · 8 Songs. String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor D. 810, "Death and the Maiden": III. Scherzo (Allegro Molto) & Trio. 4. 810, "Death and the Maiden": IV. Presto.

The Busch quartet happily do not play such tricks with the Schubert score. Their Schubert is always consistent, strict and convincing. Both quartets can be played differently: apart from the comparisons mentioned above, I recommend the box set of the Amadeus quartet, including a fine D. 887 Amadeus Quartet: Haydn, Schubert, Brahms 1951-1957. But the Busch's relaxing of tempo isn't exaggerated either, and it is a small detail that will be of interest only to intellectuals for whom structural integrity has a role to play in interpreting music, if subservient to expressive concern. But the apex of the Busch's reading is their beautiful Andante un poco moto, vehement and full of pathos, a giant expressive jump from the Kolisch Quartet (who took it as a brisk march, more an Andante con moto or an Allegretto) and a reason alone to justify this version's standing in posterity.

Catch us with our friends from the Wingra Wind Quintet tonight in Baraboo with a performance of the Schubert Octet! FRI, 5 OCT. Pro Arte Quartet, Wingra Wind Quintet /Kris Saebo at the Al.

MP3 FLAC related to The Busch Quartet & Pro Arte - Play Schubert