ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee - The Duo
Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee - The Duo album download


Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee


The Duo



MP3 album size:

1589 mb

Other music formats:



4.7 ✱

Date of release:


Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee - The Duo album download


1 Mean Old Frisco
2 The Woman Is Killing Me
3 Lightnin's Blues
4 Brownie's Blues
5 Sonny's Blues
6 I've Been Treated Wrong
7 Climbing On Top Of The Hill
8 Fox Chase
9 Going Down Slow
10 Lost John
11 Can't Help Myself
12 Crow Jane Blues
13 Living With The Blues
14 Back To New Orleans
15 I'm Prison Bound
16 Freight Train
17 Sweet Woman Blues
18 Key To The Highway
19 Walk On
20 Rock Island Line

Conversation With The River '1991. Sonny & Brownie '1973.

Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee were a prolific blues duo for decades. One of their hardest to find albums is Folk Songs of Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee. It was originally issued on the Roulette label in 1959. Now mastered from the original tapes, and using the original album cover artwork, fans of this classic duo will no longer have the blues! They can listen to the blues instead! Go Unlimited.

Down Home Blues is an album by blues musicians Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry recorded in 1960 and released on the Bluesville label. McGhee's strumming and singing have enough polish to pass as a commercial recording, but at its best, it's still sufficiently unaffected so as to be regarded as authentic country-blues. It's Terry's harp, however, that really pulls this body of music back to its roots.

Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee were the ultimate blues duo; McGhee's stylized singing and light, flickering guitar was wonderfully contrasted by Terry's sweeping, whirling harmonica solos and intense, country-tinged singing. They were in great form during the ten tunes featured on this live date. Sometimes, as on "Custard Pie" or "Barking Bull Dog," they're funny; at other times, they were prophetic, chilling, or moving. This is Piedmont blues at its best, and this disc's tremendous remastering provides a strong sonic framework.

Album · 2008 · 10 Songs. Greatest Country Blues. Blues Six Pack: Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee - EP. 2009. Sonny Terry And Brownie McGhee. See All. Sun's Gonna Shine. Brownie McGhee & Sonny Terry.

MP3 FLAC related to Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee - The Duo