ClassicalPopRockElectronicHip-hopJazzReggaeNot musicCountry and WorldFunkStageMilitaryBluesFor childrenLatinOther
» » Floating Points - Elaenia
Floating Points - Elaenia album download


Floating Points




Electronic / Jazz

MP3 album size:

1297 mb

Other music formats:



4.2 ✱


Contemporary Jazz, House



Date of release:


Floating Points - Elaenia album download

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Nespole 5:07
2 Silhouettes (I, II & III)
Bass – Susumu MukaiCello – Joe ZeitlinDrums – Tom SkinnerViola – Matthew Kettle*Violin – Edward Brenton, Qian WuVoice – Rahel Debebe-Dessalegne*
3 Elaenia 7:14
4 Argenté 4:34
5 Thin Air 3:58
6 For Marmish
Cello – Joe ZeitlinDrums – Leo TaylorGuitar – Alex ReeveViola – Matthew Kettle*Violin – Edward Brenton, Qian Wu
7 Peroration Six
Bass – Susumu MukaiCello – Joe ZeitlinDrums – Leo TaylorGuitar – Alex ReeveViola – Matthew Kettle*Violin – Edward Brenton, Qian Wu

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Pluto
  • Copyright (c) – Pluto
  • Manufactured By – Optimal Media GmbH
  • Licensed To – Luaka Bop, Inc.


  • Artwork – SS*
  • Design – Matthew Cooper
  • Mastered By – John Dent
  • Photography By – Jason Evans
  • Written-By, Recorded By, Mixed By – Sam Shepherd


Issued in a two-panel cardboard sleeve.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 80899 0085-2-5
  • Barcode (Scanned): 680899008525

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
FPLP01 Floating Points Elaenia ‎(LP, Album) Pluto FPLP01 UK 2015
BRC-487 Floating Points Elaenia ‎(CD, Album) Pluto , Beat Records BRC-487 Japan 2015
FPCD01 Floating Points Elaenia ‎(CD, Album) Pluto FPCD01 UK 2015
PODCD0816 Floating Points Elaenia ‎(CD, Album) Pluto , Pod PODCD0816 Australia & New Zealand 2015
LB0085LP Floating Points Elaenia ‎(LP, Album) Pluto , Luaka Bop LB0085LP US 2015

Elaenia is the debut studio album by British electronic musician Sam Shepherd, released under his alias Floating Points on 6 November 2015 by Shepherd's own Pluto label and Luaka Bop. Shepherd created the artwork for the album by connecting fibre-optic cables to a home made harmonograph. Shepherd had originally conceived the album to contain only one track but was advised against the idea and eventually cut the music into seven songs.

Album · 2015 · 8 Songs. Londoner Sam Shepherd’s first full-length as Floating Points, Elaenia, is a sparkling, unclassifiable blend of techno traditions, jazz abstractions, post-rock, and other cosmic persuasions.

Floating Points - Elaenia For an artist so highly regarded for consistency, Sam Shepherd hasn't really stuck with a particular sound for very long. His precociously gifted and prodigiously clever talents have opened his compositions to more nuance and deeper complexity with each iteration of Floating Points-the shifting continuum between "Nuits Sonores" and "For You" leans as much on his early classical training as it does his lauded Plastic People residency. It was unlikely the first Floating Points album would've been anything other than beautiful, though its stunning virtuosity turned out more elusive than expected. Shepherd's flawless Eglo catalogue had the power to coax his followers off the dance floor with him, and Elaenia's sophisticated sense of musical accomplishment ought to keep them there.

Floating Points has announced his debut album, Elaenia. Elaenia will be released on November 6 through Pluto (UK) and Luaka Bop (US). Stream the first taste of it, a video for ‘Silhouettes (I, II & III)’, below. Floating Points’ first productions emerged in 2008 and 2009, around the same time that he moved from Manchester to London (where he, fairly famously, studied neuroscience). He collaborated with early supporter Alexander Nut on Eglo, a label that has housed music by Fatima, Funkineven and Floating Points himself

Slight and anticlimactic are terms of dissatisfaction that could be used by certain listeners as a reaction to Elaenia, the first full-length from Sam Shepherd, aka Floating Points. Those who have been attentive since the brainiac producer's earliest releases are more likely to hear the 43-minute album as a modest culmination of progressions and refinements traceable throughout what preceded it. Shepherd began in 2009 with swinging post-dubstep/house hybrids.

B2. Thin Air. B3. For Marmish. Mix CDr features rarities and unreleased tracks. Includes free download code for the album on 320 kbps MP3s. Matrix, Runout: (Side A): BF98868-01 A1. Matrix, Runout: (Side B): BF98868-01 B1. Other Versions (5 of 12) View All.

MP3 FLAC related to Floating Points - Elaenia